Wednesday, September 18, 2019

Designing Innovative Products and Services with DMADV

Product and service creation requires a process which develops a detailed design for a good or service and is coupled together with the processes to actually produce that good or service.  In Six Sigma, product or service design (Design for Six Sigma [DFSS]) means creating these, including the process to produce them in such a way that defects in the product and the process are not only extremely rare, but also predictable.  Furthermore, defects are rare and predictable, even at the point when full-scale production begins.  To achieve this level of excellence and its attendant low costs and short cycle times, as well as soaring levels of customer satisfaction, requires some enhancements to traditional design methods.  For example, each DFSS design project starts with an identification of customers and a detailed analysis and understanding of their needs.  Even “redesign” starts at the beginning because all successful designs are based on customer needs, and in this world of rapid change, customer needs, and even customers, have a way of rapidly changing.  Another example is the widespread intensive use of statistical methods in DFSS.  The power of the information gained from statistical analyses provides the means to achieve significant improvement.  DFSS is carried out in a series of phases known as DMADV.

DMADV stands for define, measure, analyze, design, and verify.  The discussion that follows does not cover all the details of procedures and tools used in DMADV; that would require many hundreds of pages, and they can be found elsewhere in published form.  We will, however, attempt to acquaint the reader with what any manager needs to know about the purpose, the issues, the questions, and the sequence of steps associated with the respective phases of DMADV.

  1. Define: Initiate the project, scope the project, plan and manage the project.
  2. Measure: Discover and prioritize customer needs, develop and prioritize CTQs, and measure baseline performance.
  3. Analyze: Develop design alternative, develop high-level design, and evaluate high-level design.
  4. Design: Optimize detail level design parameters, evaluate detail design, plan detail design verification tests, verify detail and design, and optimize process performance
  5. Verify: Execute pilot/analyze results, implement the production process, then transition the process to their owners.

A “new” codification of the process for developing quality products is known as Design for Six Sigma.  It combines the concept of quality design with the popular goal of Six Sigma quality.  The DFSS process directs the designers of the product to create their designs so that manufacturing can produce them at exceptional quality levels.  In the case of services, it means developing the service process so that it can be delivered at Six Sigma quality levels.  DMADV is targeted at design activities that result in a new product, a new design of an existing product, or the modification of an existing design.

FacebookLinkedInGoogle BookmarksRedditStumbleUponTwitterShare

[Read More...]

Posted in: Baldrige

                                                              Join our mailing list to receive free CCE updates!   Sign Up Now   


Home   |   About CCE   |   Ethics   |   Events   |   CAPE Program   |   News Archives

p: (858) 486-0400 | | 655 S. Main Street, Suite 200 #364, Orange, CA 92868


California Council for Excellence