Wednesday, September 18, 2019

California Council for Excellence Recognizes 2012 CTEA Award Recipients

California Council for Excellence Recognizes  2012 CTEA Award Recipients


ESCONDIDO, Calif. (Feb. 5, 2013)–
The California Council for Excellence (CCE) today recognized the 2012 
recipients of the California Team Excellence (CTEA)™ Gold Nugget and Gold Rush Awards at the California 
Council for Excellence (CCE) at its 19th Annual Awards Conference. 
Administered by CCE, the CTEA program recognizes project-based teams within California organizations. 
These teams are evaluated on their ability to improve performance, save money and further the goals of their 
organization, using quality tools and processes from American Society for Quality (ASQ) International Team 
Excellence Award (ITEA) Criteria.
Over the years, these levels of recognition have been achieved by diverse California organizations that 
represent leading practices and performance in business, education, healthcare, non-profit and the military. The 
2012 recipients continue that tradition of excellence. The Gold Nugget recipient is Baxter BioScience, Los 
Angeles, for The Buminate Cycle Time Improvement Project l. They will represent California this May in the 
International Team Excellence Awards competition at ASQ 2013 World Conference in Indianapolis, 
CCE also recognized three Gold Rush Award recipients from Kaiser Permanente Riverside Medical Center. 
They are: Stroke Program; Advanced Management of Inpatient Diabetes Care Team; and Environmental 
Services Team. 
“The CTEA Council and Team Judges are proud of the 2012 teams and their organizations,” said Vern 
Goodwalt, Chair of the CTEA™ Council. “They have engaged their employees to improve processes and solve 
problems in a team-based approach using Lean Methodology and quality tools.” 
The 2012 award recipients were formally honored at CCE’s 19th annual Best Practices and Awards 
Conference, Celebrating Excellence 2013, at the Irvine Marriot on Feb. 4 and 5. CTEA Gold Nugget Awards 
were presented to these winners during a dinner on  Monday,  Feb.  4.  CTEA  Gold  Rush  recipients  were 
recognized during the awards luncheon Tuesday, Feb. 5. Community members who attended learned about 
award recipients’ innovations and best practices at conference workshops. Other conference speakers this year 
included Alexandra Valentin, corporate director of Culture Transformation from the Ritz-Carlton Leadership 
Center; Harry Hertz, director of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program; and Stephen Hacker, chief 
executive officer of the Transformational Systems International, LLC. 
More information about CCE and the conference is available at 
About the California Council for Excellence Founded in 1992, the California Council for Excellence is a 
nonprofit educational foundation dedicated to helping California-based organizations achieve world-class 
results through the principles and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program. CCE also 
administers the annual California Team Excellence Awards (CTEA) program, which recognizes process 
management, innovation and problem-solving skills through organized work teams 


Posted in: CTEA Program

                                                              Join our mailing list to receive free CCE updates!   Sign Up Now   


Home   |   About CCE   |   Ethics   |   Events   |   CAPE Program   |   News Archives

p: (858) 486-0400 | | 655 S. Main Street, Suite 200 #364, Orange, CA 92868


California Council for Excellence