Sunday, February 16, 2020

A message from the CAPE Council

A message from the CAPE Council
California Council for Excellence
For information contact:
Megan O’Keefe
(858) 486-0400



ORANGE, Calif. (Dec. 18, 2017) – The California Council for Excellence (CCE) today named four organizations as the 2017 recipients of the California Awards for Performance Excellence (CAPE) Eureka Award for Performance Excellence. The honorees are recognized based on the Baldrige Framework for Performance Excellence for their outstanding commitment to sustainable excellence through innovation, continuous improvement, and visionary leadership.

The 2017 Eureka Award recipients are:

Gold Level

Adventist Health White Memorial, Los Angeles, Calif. (health care)

Silver Level

County of San Diego Health & Human Services Agency, San Diego, Calif. (government)

Mills-Peninsula Medical Center, Burlingame, Calif. (health care)


Adventist Health Sonora, Sonora, Calif. (health care)

Also honored with the Prospector Recognition is government agency San Francisco Public Works.

“I am honored to congratulate these organizations as CAPE Eureka Award recipients. These organizations bring the Baldrige Framework to life in its operations and culture via their commitments to performance excellence,” said CAPE Council Chair and CCE Board member, Alice Fan.

Overseen by CCE, the CAPE program manages the awards process which adheres to the Baldrige Framework for Performance Excellence. The Eureka applicants were evaluated by teams comprised of the 2017 CAPE Board of Examiners. The rigorous evaluation process takes more than three months, including a weeklong site visit, and covers the applicants’ performance in seven areas defined by the Baldrige Framework: leadership; strategy; customers; measurement, analysis and knowledge management; workforce; operations; and results. The Eureka application evaluation is overseen by the CAPE Board of Judges to ensure the integrity of the process and to recommend recognition levels to CCE’s Board of Directors for ratification.

The CAPE Eureka Award process is modeled after that of the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. The national Baldrige Performance Excellence Program raises awareness about the importance of performance excellence in driving the U.S. and global economy; provides organizational assessments, training, tools and criteria; educates leaders in businesses, schools, health care organizations, and government and nonprofit organizations; shares the best practices of national role models; and recognizes those role models with the Baldrige Award.

Founded in 1992, the California Council for Excellence is a nonprofit educational foundation dedicated to helping California-based organizations achieve world-class results though the principles of the Baldrige Excellence Framework. CCE also administers the California Team Excellence Awards (CTEA) program, which recognizes process management, innovation and problem-solving skills through organized work teams.


Posted in: CAPE Program

                                                              Join our mailing list to receive free CCE updates!   Sign Up Now   


Home   |   About CCE   |   Ethics   |   Events   |   CAPE Program   |   News Archives

p: (858) 486-0400 | | 655 S. Main Street, Suite 200 #364, Orange, CA 92868


California Council for Excellence